sorry for the lull in entries; i have been in-between therapists and also going through a particularly rough depressive episode (ideation and all!) that has kept me from leaving the house at all, let alone producing content. but this week i want to talk to you about (surprise!) rugby. super rugby, in particular.

the 2017 investec super rugby season started 2 weeks ago, and since i have access to all of the matches on my Watch ESPN iphone app, i have spent much of my free time immersing myself in the colors, crowds, personalities, tackles, and tries of the 18-team league. super rugby pits disparate and dynamic squads from new zealand, australia, south africa, and newly japan and argentina for a 5-month season (much like the NFL) that spans from february to july. 2017 marks the 22nd season of this tournament, which makes the history more accessible to me and my waning attention span.

over the past few weeks, i have watched several matches, trying to get a feel for each team and looking to build allegiances. so far i’ve been a big fan of the Blues (out of Auckland) and the Hurricanes (Wellington) of New Zealand, the Queensland Reds of Australia (mostly because of Quade Cooper…i honestly am not the biggest “Straya” fan, what with their extra racist racism). i’m currently torn as to my South African allegiances, with my heart and the time i spent there during undergrad guiding me towards Cape Town’s Stormers, but my head pointing to the flashy jerseys and dynamic play of Durban’s Sharks and Joburg’s Lions. I’m also a sucker for an underdog story, which is exactly what Tokyo’s Sunwolves squad promises to be this season (their first game was a massive 17-83 loss to the Hurricanes – but i mean, there are like 12 All Blacks on the Canes’ roster so was it really a fair fight?)

i’ve become interested in Super Rugby through my teammates at the Gryphons. during a conversation about the Six Nations (an annual rugby tournament between the English, Irish, Welsh, Scottish, French, and Italian national teams that is notoriously difficult to watch in the US and that i also happen to find rather boring) a few weeks ago, our team captain Joey mentioned that the new Super Rugby season had just started, and that all the games were accessible from the ESPN app.

